Skip to content

#684

January 5, 2013

Most importantly, actively notice what I am not.

The ego is definition and attachment.
As definition and attachment it acquires a myriad of ideas as part of the self-concept.

Some of these ideas are opinions held to.
Some of these ideas are acquired knowledge and experience.
Some of these ideas are roles.
Some of these ideas are attitudes or identification with emotional states.
Some of these ideas are attachment to people, place or thing.
Some of these ideas are attachment to body, judgments about the body and experiences with the body.

Unconsciously, many of these ideas are accepted as ‘me’ each day.

Wake up from unconsciousness.
Pay attention to the mind.
Notice all of the ideas I am not.

From → g) #676-700, Step 3

One Comment
  1. “I am not the enjoyments, nor do they belong to me; this intellect and the sense-organs are not me, nor are they mine — they are inert and I am sentient. I am not the mind which is the root-cause of this ignorant cycle of birth and death.”

    ~ The Supreme Yoga, Yoga Vasistha

Leave a Reply

