Skip to content

#687c

January 12, 2013

How does the mind suck me in?
1. Thinking I need things a certain way.
2. Thinking I need to be perceived in a certain way.
3. Thinking I need a certain experience.

When I think I need things a certain way, what is the most common effect?
Annoyance.

When I think I need to be perceived in a certain way, what is the most common effect?
I take some type of action to try and receive the desired result.

When I think I need a certain experience, what is the most common effect?
A feeling of lack.

Who would I be without the thought “I need things a certain way”?
Free flowing open experience.

Is there an identity in free flowing open experience?
If I choose to identify with it, there is an idea of identity. Otherwise there is just being.

Who would I be without the thought “I want to be perceived in a certain way”?
I don’t know, but movement would never come from that idea. It leaves more space for only inspired movement and more space for present being without movement.

Who would I be without thinking I need a certain experience?
Fully satisfied with the present moment as it appears now.

Is there willingness to let go of interest in these ideas?
Yes. And because the mind will want to forget this clarity, I will review and sit with this journal entry.

From → g) #676-700, Step 3

One Comment
  1. “In the twinkling of an eye, this little ripple known as the mind assumes terrible proportions. Man foolishly ascribes to the Self the sorrow and the sufferings that do not touch it in the least and becomes miserable.”

    ~ The Supreme Yoga, Yoga Vasistha

Leave a Reply

