Skip to content

#773

March 22, 2014

Extreme self-honesty is called for.
I can see myself as spiritual, as clear, as advanced, but what is this “I” that has these thoughts, and what does it see as “my self”?

As I write this, my right hand is freshly out of a cast. It is stiff and weak.
To what degree do I see this as “my hand”?
Am I more concerned about the healing of this hand than another hand?
Can I sense my Self with no real attachment to this hand, so that this hand and another hand are the same to me?

It is time for ongoing contemplation, and this hand as well as any other hand I see, …
These eyes, as well as any other eyes I see, …
This body, as well as any other body I see provides the opportunity for this contemplation.

When I see this body I can ask, “Is that me? Is that mine? What am I? What is ‘mine’?”
When I see another body I can ask, “Is that me? Is that mine? What am I? What is ‘mine’?”
I can bring awareness to mind’s answers to these questions.
I can bring inquiry to those answers.

As I contemplate these questions now, I see that mind is willing, upon questioning, to temporarily drop the idea that this body is mine, but mind wants to claim awareness as “mine”.

Is that true?
Is awareness “mine”?
What claims this ownership?
Which is primary and which is secondary, awareness or that which claims awareness?

“I” and “mine” themselves are mere concepts.
This needs to be seen clearly and without confusion.
And so it is time for ongoing contemplation of these concepts.
When concepts are not looked at or contemplated, they thrive.
If I will allow awareness to remain focused on them, they will die.

From → j) #751-785, Step 3

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

