Skip to content

#777a

May 10, 2014

What is attachment?

Attachment is feeling I need something.
I need it for my happiness, …
for my safety, …
or in order to hold onto my identification.

As I look at attachments, I need to realize there may not always be an emotional attachment present with me now. If something I am attached to is here, it may seem neutral to me now. But if it was taken away, would it still seem neutral or would a strong emotion arise?

In order to be fully honest about attachments, I need to look slowly. I need to look with the heart. The mind may say I am attached when I am not, in order to induce a sense of guilt. And the mind may say I am not attached when I am, in order to give me a sense of self satisfaction. Therefore, I cannot look with the mind. If I want to look honestly, I must look slowly and fully with the heart. I will ask it what my attachments are.

From → j) #751-785, Step 3

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

