Skip to content

#806b

October 22, 2015

Be devoted to awakening.

What does it mean to be devoted to awakening?

When I am devoted to my job, I give it my undivided attention.
I work long hours willingly and tirelessly.
I am committed to my best effort.
I do not lose interest in a project until it is complete.
I trust the unfolding that is yet to come.

When I am devoted to my daughter, I give her my undivided attention.
I make time for her happily and eagerly.
I put myself aside so that I can listen to her without being an obstacle to communication.
I cannot imagine losing interest in her ever.
I trust her, and I am here for her.

If I look at these two examples of devotion, one a devotion of responsibility and the other a devotion of the heart, what do I see?

One who is devoted to awakening gives that purpose undistracted attention;
That purpose is not forgotten.

One who is devoted to awakening cannot help but set aside time for focused practice;
It is seen as too important to not give time to it.

One who is devoted to awakening is committed to one’s best and continuous effort to put the ego aside while being open to awakening’s intuitive guidance.

One who is devoted to awakening cannot lose interest in the purpose or practice;
One cannot lose interest, because it is a yearning of the heart.

One who is devoted to awakening gives attention to that purpose in the way she is called to now, and she trusts the rest.

(There is double-meaning in the last two words.)

From → #803-819, Step 4

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

